VT Wood Manufacturers Association recognizes Woodworker of the Year

Member SpotlightOkemo Valley News
Brent Karner, Woodworker of Clear Lake Furniture in Ludlow, VT

On January 25, 2013 at their Annual Meeting, the Vermont Wood Manufacturers Association (VWMA) honored Brent Karner of Clearlake Furniture with the 2012 VWMA Woodworker of the Year Award and the Vermont House Agriculture Committee with the 2012 Friend of the Industry Award.

Clearlake Furniture received much recognition when they made 150 quality, wooden chairs for UVM’s Memorial Hall using locally sourced cherry. Not only were the chairs made with Vermont wood, by Vermont woodworkers, but the wood was also milled and the chairs were upholstered locally. The VWMA would like to thank UVM vice president Richard Cate for thinking local when selecting the company for the project.

The Vermont House Ag. Committee supported the Vermont wood products industry in so many ways in 2012 and continues to show their support in 2013. They were crucial in allowing our industry to be recognized by the Working Lands Enterprise Fund board and making room for us at the discussion table. Committee members included Rep. Carolyn Partridge of Windham (Chair), Rep. Richard Lawrence of Lyndon (Vice Chair), Rep. Will Stevens of Shoreham (Ranking Member), Rep. John Bartholomew of Hartland (Clerk), Rep. Dan Connor of Fairfield, Rep. Cynthia Martin of Springfield, Rep. Kristina Michelsen of Hardwick, Rep. Tess Taylor of Barre City, Rep. Tristan Toleno of Brattleboro, Rep. Harvey Smith of New Haven, and Rep. Teo Zagar of Barnard.


About Marji

Marji Graf is the CEO of the Okemo Valley Regional Chamber of Commerce serving the Towns of Andover, Cavendish, Chester, Ludlow, Mount Holly, Plymouth and Weston, VT. Marji comes from an advertising, marketing and promotional background which serves her well in promoting the Okemo Valley Region. Marji lives in Mount Holly with her husband and 14 year old son, Ryan



Powered by Facebook Comments